Decree-Law no. 108 - Returns from abroad

Decree-Law no. 108, establishing the end of the health emergency and, consequently, a gradual and full return to normal activities, was published yesterday.

In particular, with regard to the return of citizens and residents from abroad, Art. 10 of the above mentioned Decree-Law provides for the obligation of prior notification to the Department of Foreign Affairs (or, in cases of urgency, to the Inter-agency Operations Centre) only in case of return from:

- Non-EU countries;

- Non-Schengen countries.

Therefore, the following travellers are not subject to the above obligation:

- Travellers arriving from one of the 27 EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Hungary;

- Travellers arriving from a Schengen country: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland;

- Travellers arriving from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; the Principality of Andorra, the Principality of Monaco and the Vatican City State.


The Ministry and the Department of Foreign Affairs remain at the disposal of San Marino citizens and residents travelling abroad to provide them with assistance and explanations on return procedures at the following address 



San Marino, 1 July 2020


Republic of San Marino

Palazzo Begni, Contrada Omerelli n. 31 - 47890 San Marino -
T +378 (0549) 882 302
F +378 (0549) 882 814