Decree-Law no. 122 of 24 July 2020

Decree-Law no. 122 of 24 July 2020 ratifies some provisions of Decree-Law no. 108, which established the end of the health emergency in the Republic of San Marino.


With regard to returns from abroad, the obligation to undergo the serological test has been extended to all those who enter the Republic of San Marino from non-EU and non-Schengen countries. Any persons not residing or not staying in San Marino are in any case required to undergo the test and to bear the costs for the execution of the clinical investigations and of any quarantine, unless they have already completed a period of quarantine upon entry into one of the territories of the European Union according to criteria that are in compliance with the health protocols in force in the Republic of San Marino.


Article 10 of Decree Law no. 122 provides for the obligation of prior notification to the Department of Foreign Affairs (or, in cases of urgency, to the Inter-agency Operations Centre) with consequent serological testing, in case of return from:

- Non-EU countries;

- Non-Schengen countries.

Therefore, the following travellers are not subject to the above obligation:

- Travellers arriving from one of the 27 EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Hungary;

- Travellers arriving from a Schengen country: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland;

- Travellers arriving from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; the Principality of Andorra, the Principality of Monaco and the Vatican City State.


All those who come from any countries not on the list are therefore obliged to notify in advance their return to the Department of Foreign Affairs or, in case of return for urgent reasons, to the Inter-agency Operations Centre; consequently, they must undergo a serological test and, in the event of a positive IgG or IgM result, a molecular testing (swab). While awaiting the outcome of the tests, they are obliged to self-quarantine. In the event that the molecular testing (swab) is positive, the above citizens or residents will be placed in home quarantine. In the event of a negative result, they will not be subject to any restrictions.


The above measures will take effect until 31 December 2020.


The Ministry and the Department of Foreign Affairs remain at the disposal of San Marino citizens and residents travelling abroad to provide them with assistance and explanations on return procedures at the address 


Download Decree-Law no. 122

Annex 1 

Annex 2




San Marino, 24 July 2020


Republic of San Marino

Palazzo Begni, Contrada Omerelli n. 31 - 47890 San Marino -
T +378 (0549) 882 302
F +378 (0549) 882 814