HEADQUARTERS • SIEGE NEW YORK, NY 10017

TEL.: 1 (212) 963.1234 • FAX: 1 (212) 963.4879

REFERENCE: SCA/4/18 (11)

[ELECTRONIC VERSION
ADDRESSED TO PERMANENT
MISSIONS TO THE UNITED
NATIONS IN NEW YORK]

The Chair of the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006) presents his compliments to the Permanent Representatives of Member States and to the Permanent Observers of Non-Member States to the United Nations and wishes to convey the following:

On **9 July 2018**, the Committee enacted the **amendments** specified with strikethrough and underline specified in the two entries below on its List of individuals and entities subject to the measures imposed by paragraphs 8(d) and 8 (e) of Security Council resolution 1718 (2006) adopted under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations:

## A. Individual

KPi.004 Name: 1: RI 2: HONG-SOP 3: na 4: na

Title: na Designation: Former director, Yongbyon Nuclear Research Center, and Head of Nuclear Weapons Institute DOB: 1940 POB: na Good quality a.k.a.: na Low quality a.k.a.: na Nationality: Democratic People's Republic of Korea Passport no: na National identification no: na Address: na Listed on: 16 Jul. 2009 (amended on 9 July 2018) Other information: Former director, Yongbyon Nuclear Research Center, oversaw three core facilities that assist in the production of weapons-grade plutonium: the Fuel Fabrication Facility, the Nuclear Reactor, and the Reprocessing Plant.

## B. Entity

## **KPe.028 Name: MUNITIONS INDUSTRY DEPARTMENT**

**A.k.a.:** a) Military Supplies Industry Department b) MID F.k.a.: na **Address:** Pyongyang, Democratic People's Republic of Korea **Listed on:** 2 Mar. 2016 (amended on 9 July 2018) **Other information:** The Munitions Industry Department is involved in key aspects of the DPRK's missile program. MID is responsible for overseeing the development of the DPRK's ballistic missiles, including the Taepo Dong-2. The MID oversees the DPRK's weapons production and R&D programs, including the DPRK's ballistic missile program. The Second Economic Committee and the Second Academy of Natural Sciences – also designated in August 2010 – are subordinate to the MID. The MID in recent years has worked

to develop the KN08 road-mobile ICBM. <u>The MID oversees the DPRK's nuclear program. The Nuclear Weapons Institute is subordinate to the MID.</u>

The names of individuals and entities added to the 1718 Sanctions List pursuant to a decision by the Committee may be found in the "Press Releases" section on the Committee's website: https://www.un.org/sc/suborg/en/sanctions/1718/press-releases.

To obtain a fully updated version of the List of individuals and entities subject to the measures imposed by paragraphs 8(d) and 8 (e) of Security Council resolution 1718 (2006), Member States are encouraged to consult, on a regular basis, the Committee's website at the following URL:

https://www.un.org/sc/suborg/en/sanctions/1718/materials. The 1718 List is available in HTML, PDF and XML format and is updated on the basis of relevant information provided by Member States and international and regional organizations.

The Consolidated United Nations Security Council Sanctions List is also updated following all changes made to the 1718 Sanctions List. An updated version of the Consolidated List is accessible via the following URL:

https://www.un.org/sc/suborg/en/sanctions/un-sc-consolidated-list.

9 July 2018